Phylum Deuteromycota

The phylum Deuteromycota consists of about 25,000 species, many of which do not have a defined sexual cycle. Deuteromycetes usually reproduce asexually (unlike Ascomycetes). Penicillium, from which penicilin was developed, is sometimes classified as a Deutertomycete. On the other side of the scale are such pathogens as ringworm which pose serious danger to human and animal health.

Back to Fungi